Learn About The ADA

The ADA is a federal law that prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in many circumstances. The law includes five main parts, or “titles,” including:

  • Title I, which covers many employment situations
  • Title II, which covers all services and programs of state and local governments (public transportation, recreation programs, courts, jails and prisons, libraries, employment, and much more)
  • Title III, which covers public accommodations (private businesses that serve the public, such as restaurants, hotels, theaters, doctors' offices, pharmacies, retail stores, taxi companies, museums, amusement parks, day care centers, and many more)
  • Title IV, which covers certain telecommunications services
  • Title V, which includes some miscellaneous, but significant, provisions